ITIL certification: examination overview

ITIL certification: examination overview

Certification overview

ITIL foundation ensures that you obtain skills and knowledge required in the implementation and delivery of proper services and also an opportunity to relate in a professional manner with other ITIL certified personnel. The ITIL certification ensures that individuals acquire the required skills and knowledge for proper implementation and maintenance of the Information Technology services. In addition, individuals get the opportunity of perfectly understanding the ITIL processes that create and enhance improvement in the IT organizations. The ITIL processes ensure that there is standardization of all the strategic approaches that are usually adapted. It also measures the return on investments in all the IT organizations that have adopted the ITIL framework.

All individuals interested in having an understanding of the ITIL processes are therefore eligible to sit for the exam, pass and attain the certification.

Who need do this certification?

In order to attain the certification it is fundamental to have an in depth understanding of the ITIL processes that promote better service delivery. It is therefore suitable for team leaders, IT security managers, Web designers, Architectures, Business managers, professionals who work in ITIL organizations and any other interested party since certifications mainly dwell on ITIL processes and their equivalent management techniques.


The ITIL Foundation certification is important because it helps an enterprise drastically reduce costs in a more effective manner. It ensures there is better governance of resources that leads to improved IT services since the best practices are usually adopted. Individuals with the ITIL Foundation certification have proven to be very efficient because organizations that have adopted this system have recorded increased service productivity and massive customer satisfaction and reduction of customer complaints.

ITIL processes embraces an approach that is purely based on a common framework, it ensures there is neutrality in terms of service delivery on all levels of the implementation platform, it is also identified as non prescriptive in that it can be adopted and adapted by all organizations regardless of their location, mode of operation and structure of the organization as a whole. It ensures that only the best practices are always adopted in a friendly environment. It is evident that organizations using these ITIL processes have continually grown and productivity has also increased that has intensively created value to the companies both locally and internationally.

Associated Exam

Individuals have the choice of either sitting for the ITSM exam that instills the same skills and knowledge or the PMP certification exam. The above exams are adopted in most of the training centers that specialize in ITIL.


This highly depends on the level of the certification.

  • The ITIL master requires certification from the lower levels which include ITIL expert, ITIL intermediate and the ITIL Foundation certification.
  • One is also required to have enough experience and knowledge in IT and more proficient in web development.
  • ITIL Expert certification requires the intermediate and the foundation level accreditation.
  • The Intermediate level requires the ITIL Foundation certification that does not have any prior requirements.

Examination overview

The candidates are required to fully understand the ITIL processes that are usually the main area of interest in the exams.

The ITIL processes include

  1. Roles
  2. Responsibilities
  3. Tools
  4. Management controls

They are considered as the most effective if all the objectives set are attained successfully. Each of the ITIL process has a specific owner and the candidates are required to identify the correct owners for each of the above processes. They have to be then documented in order to ensure there are better ITIL service management processes.

The candidates are also required to understand the following domains:

  1. Business processes
  2. Information Technology processes
  3. ITIL service lifecycle
  4. Service strategy
  5. Service design
  6. Service transition
  7. Service operation

They are also required to have relevant skills and knowledge required for the practical part of the exam and in order to achieve this they are required comprehend and be aware of all the knowledge acquired in ITIL Processes.

Validity of certificate

The ITIL certificate is valid for three years after which it requires renewal by sitting for the latest exam in the relevant category.

Expert review

The most remarkable advantage of the certification is the opportunity to get better promotions in career and to increase business communication. This certification has enabled me acquire lifetime ambition and help to other people to get proper prestige in community. It is essential for all professional.’

Florien Waffenbach

Microsoft consultant, Microsoft Company, California, USA

Related IT Guides

  1. PMP study guide
  2. PMI PMP for project managers
  3. Six Sigma certification: how to achieve
  4. Six Sigma Black Belt
  5. Six Sigma Black Belt Training
  6. CISSP: training methods
  7. Six Sigma Green Belt
  8. Six Sigma Yellow Belt certification
  9. PMI PMP will introduce you to the project management career
  10. ITIL Certifications overview
  11. ITIL V3 Foundation - for all who looking to uplift their career
  12. ITIL Intermediate Certification
  13. Confirm your skills with PMI PMP certification
  14. ITIL certification is a huge benefit
  15. ISC2 CISSP certifications
  16. ITIL V3 Foundation certification
  17. ITIL V3 Foundation certification: topics
  18. ISC2 CISSP certificates
  19. Six Sigma Black Belt Certification overview
  20. ITIL v3 foundation: preparing for exam
  21. Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) certification
  22. Type 1 ITIL certifications
  23. Six Sigma Black Belt certification
  24. PMI PMP Certification: topics for exam
  25. ITIL
  26. PMI PMP
  27. PMI PMP Overview
  28. PMI PMP certification - for competing people
  29. Six Sigma certification: overview, prerequisites and validity
  30. ITIL certifications: topics of exams

Amazing Offer! Get 30% Discount on All Your Purchase

This is a ONE TIME OFFER. You will never see this Again

Instant Discount


30% OFF

Discount on All Your Purchase Enter Your Email Address to Receive Your 30% OFF Discount Code. Act on All Exams!

A confirmation link will be sent to this email address to verify your login.

* We value your privacy. We will not rent or sell your email address.